SAA – South African Airways is the most awarded airline in Africa! SAA currently operates to 38 destinations worldwide and looks like there is no stopping this giant in the airline industry. They have over 660 flights a week between Johannesburg, Cape town, Durban, East London and Port Elizabeth and is currently in control of a fleet of 58 Aircrafts! That is almost 8 times more that some of the other airlines in operation today.

SAA – South African Airways was founded in 1934 after the acquisition of Union Airways by the South African government and was originally controlled by South African Railways and Harbours Administration. During that stage, it was well known as (SAL) Suid-Afrikaanse Lugdiens that comes from and Afrikaans decent, but that name has been dropped a long time ago. SAA took a huge turn in 2006 when they launched online tickets that totally changed the industry. A turn of events that also led from the airline splitting from Transnet to become a fully independent airline operating in South Africa.

Some of the destinations that SAA Flies to is:

  • Africa
  • Europe
  • North America
  • South America
  • Asia
  • Australia

In 2010 the airline also announced that it would introduce 8 more destinations in Africa that consist of:

  • Cotonou
  • Benin
  • Abuja
  • Nigeria
  • Madagascar
  • Republic of Congo
  • Cameroon
  • Burundi

SAA – South African Airways flights in South Africa generally include:

  • Johannesburg – O.R Tambo International Airport
  • Cape Town – Cape Town International Airport
  • Durban – King Shaka International Airport
  • East London  – East London Airport
  • Port Elizabeth – Port Elizabeth International Airport
  • Richards Bay – Richards Bay Airport
  • Hoedspruit – Eastgate Airport
  • Nelspruit – Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport
  • George – George Airport
  • Bloemfontein – Bloemfontein Airport
  • East London – East London Airport
  • Kimberley – Kimberley Airport

There are 5 Voyager statuses:

  • Blue
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Lifetime Platinum.

To reach a higher tier, members must fly on selected flights to allocate “Tier Miles”, in order to progress. This is different from “Base Miles”, which members can only use to win receive awards